Masterplan (e-)bike

The Masterplan (e-)bike makes our destination fit for two-wheelers. Various measures are intended to make biking and e-biking in Surses more attractive. Here we inform how the master plan came about and what the status of the various measures is.

Content

  1. Introduction
  2. What is currently going on?
  3. Initial situation
  4. How a master plan is created
  5. Which target groups fit to the Surses
  6. Costs
  7. Offers around the bike
  8. Visualization
  9. Surveys
  10. Facts & fig

1. Introduction

Why does the Surses need a master plan (e-)bike?

The location development Surses started its work in the early summer of 2018 and as a first step created a project portfolio of all ongoing projects and project ideas. In the process, it became apparent that there is a wealth of ideas and initiatives in Surses around the topic of mountain biking.

What was missing, however, was a common thread. That is, a clear and unified idea of what is to be achieved with the bike offer to be developed, who will use the offer, and which measures must be implemented as a priority.

The project Masterplan ( e-)bike is closely accompanied by Allegra Tourismus GmbH, the leading company for bike offer development in the alpine region:

www.allegra-tourismus.ch

In addition, the canton of Grisons has financially supported the development of the master plan as part of its " mountain bike " development program.
Many thanks!

The information about the master plan briefly explained in a video (Sandra Gredig, Allegra Tourism)

To the video

Interview by SRF RTR with Linda Netzer on the (e-)bike master plan

To the interview

2. what is currently going on?

Re-signaling Switzerland mobile routes

The Switzerland mobile routes are our target group-specific flagships. They should be as beautiful and interesting as possible. That's why we have optimized the existing routes, partly relocated them (from the main road to a dirt road) and changed the names. So now you know directly to which viewpoint the route leads. Thus, "Heaven's Door" became "Ziteil Bike" or "Bela vista" became the route "Tscharnoz Bike".

Our team from the work group of the municipality was therefore this spring on the road with emergency generator and hot air gun. Many thanks for your efforts!

 

1st bike & hiking trail cleaning day

On June 20, 2020 the 1st bike and hiking trail cleaning day took place. Under the direction of bike guide Roland Kolb, volunteers cleaned the paths from Munter to Salouf and from Munter to Del. Armed with rakes, hedge clippers and shovels, they worked diligently all day. The day was fun and the result is impressive.

Many thanks to the hardworking helpers for their commitment!

To be continued next year...

Refurbishment/maintenance Switzerland mobile routes

The following trails will be rehabilitated in the summer of 2020:

  • Route Ziteil, section Cre digl Lai, Lungatigia, Val digls Morts, Parsonz ( realized)
  • Route Ziteil, section Ziteil - Cre digl Lai rehabilitation under examination
  • Route section Marmorera village - Marmorera dam ( realized)
  • Subject to change - depending on effort and progress on above trails, there may be shifts in prioritization

 

To ensure that we have the necessary know-how for renovations and maintenance in our valley in the future, we are also conducting a 3-day training course for the employees of the Surses community works group. Are you also interested in the topic of trail maintenance? Then please contact us (see below for contact details).

Planning of new routes (sections)

It is important that the signalized routes meet the needs of the respective target groups in terms of difficulty and attractiveness. In addition to the re-signaling of route sections, new routes (sections) are also necessary in some cases.

Building new sections is a much more complex process than maintaining and rehabilitating sections, because they are usually located outside of construction zones and therefore require extensive approval procedures.

For this reason, we are using the summer of 2020 to concretize ideas for the construction of new routes (sections). We are examining different variants of the routes, and a rough concept is being developed. This will be followed by discussions with landowners and environmental associations. If these lead to a positive result, the next step (from 2021) will be the detailed design for the trails, the preparation of the plans, the examination of the financing, and the submission of a BAB procedure (for approval outside the building zone). In the case of major investments, i.e. the construction of any new trails, the population of the municipality of Surses decides on the project in advance at the municipal assembly.

The ongoing planning work therefore does not mean that these lines (sections) will actually be built. It is a matter of concretizing the measures and the optimization possibilities of the route network.

This summer we are looking at the following additions to our existing route network:

  • Routing from Mulegns via Sur to the Marmorera reservoir to enable an attractive mountain bike route through our entire valley from Bivio to Tiefencastel.
  • New route routing Alp Flix, which also leads to our beautiful lakes
  • Creation of a beginner and family trail to complement the existing trail offer in the Somtgant Radons area or in the area of the former downhill trail between Parnoz and Savognin
  • Julierroute: options for a new trail from the Julierpass to Bivio

 

Flowtrail Somtgant - Tigignas

The project for the construction of a flow trail between Somtgant and Tigignas has already existed for several years. It is a project of private initiators, the municipality of Surses and the Savognin mountain cableways. The municipal assembly gave the go-ahead for the partial revision of the local planning required for realization in December 2018.

The partial revision was rejected by the canton of Grisons in May 2019 due to biotopes worthy of protection (according to the nature and heritage protection law) in the upper part of the planned route. The examination of an alternative route was proposed. This project change again requires a public participation and a vote at the municipal assembly.

Currently, the alternative route is being examined and the project is being discussed with the initiators and the partners involved in the context of the (e-)bike master plan.

The Flowtrail is built with the company Trailworks

 

Optimization bike infrastructure

The implementation of the Bike Master Plan is not only about the maintenance and optimization of the existing route network for our target groups. Equally important are "flanking" measures to increase the quality of the overall offer.

To this end, we are in contact with farmers and alpine cooperatives in order to make fence passages obstacle-free and to better signalize them. And we have launched an initiative to raise awareness among our service providers and to increase the range of bike stands and e-charging facilities.

In order to make pasture fence crossings clearly visible, pennants have been produced which make the crossings clearly visible. Farmers have been informed about the pennants and can order them at the Savognin tourist office.

The infrastructure for bikers is very important in the village. So you should also find bike racks in front of every store, restaurant and hotel. For stores, restaurants and hotels we participate with 50% of the acquisition costs for new bike stands.

 

The work is bearing fruit - in the photo a nice example of a new bike-friendly fence passage in Rona.

(Mobile) pumptrack

As a first visible measure, we were already able to set up a mobile pump track on the school grounds in Grava in summer/fall 2019. This offer, which is very popular with local children and guests, will also be available this summer during the summer vacations. Take advantage of it!

Due to the great popularity of the mobile pump track, we are examining the creation of a fixed pump track. We are currently testing variants. In this project we are supported by Think & Build Velosolutions GmbH - a company specialized in the construction of pump tracks.

 

3. initial position

Surses had once organized the very first mountain bike downhill world cup. In the meantime, many destinations have gone full throttle and upgraded in the mountain bike sector. Not so the Surses.
Does it even make sense to take up this topic now?

  • Yes, thanks to the e-mountain bike the market is growing
  • A 5-fold increase in mountain bikers is expected for Grisons
  • Surses, as the fourth largest municipality in Switzerland, has an extensive network of forest and alpine roads and trails
  • Surses captivates by its vastness and originality
  • Surses in the heart of Grisons is surrounded by strong bike destination and offers the perfect complement

What does the (e) in the project title mean?

The (e) stands for electric mountain bikes. The master plan does not differentiate between electric or conventional mountain bikes. It is based on the different needs of the target groups. Because there are beginners or advanced bikers, both those who ride under their own power and those who explore our region with assistance.

TV feature

SRF RTR has produced an informative program about the mountain bike boom in Graubünden in the format Cuntrasts in autumn 2019. It gives an insight into our work in the master plan, as well as voices and images from the Surses.

 

4. how is a master plan created?

The aim of the (e-)bike master plan is to work out the basics, i.e. to find out where Surses stands, what is already available, which offers should be improved or are still missing. But it is also about getting clarity, which target groups fit to the Surses, what their needs are and how we can "pick them up". From this, measures are derived and prioritized for implementation.

Aim:

  • Development of the basics (what exists, potentials, target groups)
  • Development and prioritization of measures

Stage 1: Development of the basics in three workshops with a 15-member working group (January to May 2019)

  • Existing route network and offer: routes, highlights, viewpoints, restaurants
  • Discussion and definition of target groups (beginners/families; pleasure bikers/excursionists; advanced/trail MTB experts)
  • Elaboration of the network of paths belonging to the target groups and the related issues to be resolved

Stage 2: Development of the (e-)bike master plan (July to September 2019)

  • Travelling network of trails through Allegra Trails Ltd.
  • Definition of routes per target group
  • Elaboration and prioritization of measures

Stage 3: Implementation of initial measures and (detailed) planning for the renewal of additional routes or missing route sections

  • currently running...

 

5. which target groups fit the Surses?

During the development of the (e-)bike master plan, the following three target groups emerged:

Pleasure biker / excursionist

They are locals and guests who want to explore the Surses by bike. They enjoy the ride in the beautiful landscape and usually combine it with sights, viewpoints and a visit to the sun terrace of a restaurant. They mostly follow the signalized Schweiz Mobil routes and enjoy riding the numerous alpine and forest roads.

 

Families / trail beginners

These bikers are looking for fun riding on easy trails, an extension to forest trails. For them, safety is an important issue - no motorized traffic and no sloping trails. They want to approach trail riding. For them, a continuous, varied and thus exciting offer is important. Since families often spend time on these trails, complementary offerings such as playgrounds, barbecue areas, streams for damming or swimming areas are ideal.

 

Trail mountain bike expert

This group includes the experienced riders and physically fit athletes. They are not afraid of ascents of several hours, then enjoy the fun of riding on single trails on the way down. In the Surses you will find original trails, which are much less frequented than in the neighboring destinations. For them, accurate online information is important, as well as complementary offers such as competent guiding, transport and refreshment facilities, repair services and bike hotels.

6. costs

  • Stage 1: 9'700 CHF, of which reimbursement of 1/3 by the canton of Graubünden (justification: bike plan - route revision)
  • Stage 2: 30,000 CHF, of which 1/3 will be reimbursed by the canton of Graubünden (justification: bike plan - route revision)
  • Budget 2020: Maximum expenditure of 200'000 CHF for the measures in summer 2020. Maintenance/renovations, rough and detailed planning of further measures, infrastructure measures, training, mobile pumptrack, etc. (detailed info see above).

 

8. visualization

To get an overview of the many construction sites related to the Masterplan (e-) bike, we have created a visualization.

Visualization of prioritized measures / planning and renovations

9. surveys

In summer 2020, we conducted a small survey of bikers and e-bikers online and with physical questionnaires on the topic of bike trails and charging stations.

Statement on the evaluation and comments

Question 1: The survey results are within the range of what could be expected. We have known that we still have great potential in the satisfaction with the bike routes.

Question 2: Suggestions for improvement. We are currently focusing our marketing efforts on the main routes (Switzerland Mobile). In an exchange with the sports stores has shown that about 80 - 90% of the guests who rent a bike / e-bike in the sports store either the Radons Bike, Verflixte Tour or Giovannis Paradise ride. These tours will be increasingly communicated in the summer of 2021 using video, image and text material. For communication, a cooperation with the E-bike magazine was sought and content generated already in September 2020. In terms of trails, there are various projects underway to expand and build new trails. Regarding maintenance, efforts are underway to be able to maintain the trails better and more regularly in the future. The vacation region will not create a bike park in the sense as it is found in Lenzerheide or Chur. For families a family trail is aimed at. For the main road, solutions are currently being sought to separate the bike trail from the main road, especially between Mulegns and the Marmorera dam. For a training area various clarifications are running and a fixed pump track is also in planning. Agriculture is an important partner when it comes to bike and hiking trails. For this purpose, an annual exchange takes place in order to jointly tackle tourist concerns.

Question 3: Battery charge. Around 80% of the e-bikers surveyed had enough battery for their tour.

Question 4: On which tour was the battery not enough. The answers are contradictory, for some the battery was sufficient on the same tour, for others not. This is enormously dependent on the mode in which the tour is driven. Purely due to the geographical conditions in the Surses, there is no need for charging stations, because usually only one peak is driven, and then it is only downhill, where no battery is needed. Nevertheless, we will keep the topic and consider in infrastructure projects whether a charging station would make sense.

Many thanks to all participants for their valuable inputs.

The survey will be conducted again in 2021, but only online.

 

10. facts & figures

  • 9 out of 10 bikes sold in the sports stores in Surses are e-bikes. One is mostly a children's bike.
  • 240 new Switzerland Mobile route stickers were replaced or newly attached to signalization boards.
  • more follow....

Contact

If you have any questions or suggestions regarding the (e-)bike master plan, please do not hesitate to contact Linda Netzer, Head of site development of the municipality of Surses, linda.netzer@surses.ch. Feedback, whether positive or negative, is welcome.

Masterplan (E-)Bike

Der Masterplan (E-)Bike macht unsere Destination fit für Zweiradfahrer. Verschiedenen Massnahmen sollen das Biken und E-Biken im Surses attraktiver machen. Hier informieren wir, wie der Masterplan zustande kam und wie der Stand der verschiedenen Massnahmen ist. 

Inhalt

  1. Einleitung
  2. Was läuft aktuell?
  3. Ausgangslage
  4. Wie ensteht ein Masterplan
  5. Welche Zielgruppen passen zum Surses
  6. Kosten
  7. Angebote rund ums Bike
  8. Visualisierung
  9. Umfragen
  10. Facts & Figures

1. Einleitung

Warum braucht das Surses einen Masterplan (E-)Bike?

Die Standortentwicklung Surses hat im Frühsommer 2018 ihre Arbeit aufgenommen und als erstes ein Projekt-Portfolio über alle laufenden Projekte und Projektideen erstellt. Dabei ist aufgefallen, dass im Surses eine Fülle von Ideen und Initiativen rund ums Thema Mountainbike bestehen.

Was jedoch fehlte war der rote Faden. Also eine klare und einheitliche Idee, was mit dem zu entwickelnden Bike-Angebot erreicht werden soll, wer das Angebot nutzt, und welche Massnahmen hierzu prioritär umgesetzt werden müssen.

Das Projekt Masterplan (E-)Bike wird eng begleitet von der Allegra Tourismus GmbH, die führende Unternehmung für Bike-Angebotsentwicklung im Alpenraum: www.allegra-tourismus.ch

Zudem hat der Kanton Graubünden die Erarbeitung des Masterplanes im Rahmen seines Entwicklungsprogrammes «Mountainbike» finanziell unterstützt.
Vielen Dank!

Die Informationen zum Masterplan kurz in einem Video erklärt (Sandra Gredig, Allegra Tourismus)

Zum Video

Interview von SRF RTR mit Linda Netzer zum Masterplan (E-)Bike 

Zum Interview

2. Was läuft aktuell?

Umsignalisation Schweiz Mobil Routen

Die Schweiz Mobil Routen sind unsere zielgruppen-spezifischen Aushängeschilder. Sie sollen möglichst schön und interessant sein. Deshalb haben wir die bereits bestehenden Routen optimiert, teilweise umgelegt (von der Hauptstrasse auf einen Feldweg) und die Namen geändert. So weiss man nun direkt, zu welchem Aussichtspunkt die Route hinführt. So wurde aus «Heavens Door» neu «Ziteil Bike» oder aus «Bela vista» die Route «Tscharnoz Bike».

Unser Team von der Werkgruppe der Gemeinde war deshalb in diesem Frühling unterwegs mit Notstromaggregat und Heissluftpistole. Vielen Dank für euren Einsatz!

 

1. Bike- & Wanderwegputztag

Am 20. Juni 2020 fand der 1. Bike- und Wanderwegputztag statt. Unter der Leitung von Bikeguide Roland Kolb haben freiwillige Helfer die Wege von Munter nach Salouf und von Munter nach Del herausgeputzt. Mit Rechen, Heckenscheren und Schaufeln bewaffnet haben sie den ganzen Tag fleissig gearbeitet. Der Tag hat Spass gemacht und das Resultat lässt sich sehen.

Herzlichen Dank den fleissigen Helfern für ihren Einsatz!
Fortsetzung folgt im nächsten Jahr…

Sanierung/Unterhalt Schweiz Mobil Routen

Im Sommer 2020 werden folgende Trails saniert:

  • Route Ziteil, Strecke Cre digl Lai, Lungatigia, Val digls Morts, Parsonz (umgesetzt)

  • Route Ziteil, Strecke Ziteil – Cre digl Lai  Sanierung in Prüfung

  • Streckenabschnitt Marmorera Dorf - Marmorera Staudamm (umgesetzt)

  • Änderungen vorbehalten - je nach Aufwand und Voranschreiten bei obigen Trails kann es Verschiebungen in der Priorisierung geben

     

Damit wir zukünftig das für Sanierungen und Unterhalt nötige Know-How bei uns im Tal haben, führen wir zudem eine 3-tägige Schulung für die Mitarbeitenden der Werkgruppe der Gemeinde Surses. Interessiert auch Sie das Thema Trailunterhalt? Dann melden Sie sich bitte bei uns (Kontakt siehe unten).

Planung neuer Strecken(abschnitte)

Es ist wichtig, dass die signalisierten Routen in ihren Schwierigkeitsgraden und in der Attraktivität den Bedürfnissen der jeweiligen Zielgruppen entsprechen. Neben der Umsignalisation von Streckenabschnitten sind teilweise auch neue Strecken(abschnitte) nötig.

Neue Streckenabschnitte zu erstellen ist ein wesentlich aufwändigerer Prozess als Strecken zu unterhalten und zu sanieren, denn meistens befinden sich diese ausserhalb der Bauzonen und es sind daher umfassende Bewilligungsverfahren nötig.

Aus diesem Grund nutzen wir den Sommer 2020 um Ideen für den Bau neuer Strecken(abschnitte) zu konkretisieren. Wir prüfen verschiedene Varianten der Streckenführungen, es entsteht ein Grobkonzept. Anschliessend folgen Gespräche mit Landeigentümern und Umweltverbänden. Falls diese zu einem positiven Ergebnis führen, folgt in einem nächsten Schritt (ab 2021) das Detail-Design für die Trails, die Erstellung der Pläne, die Prüfung der Finanzierung sowie die Eingabe eines BAB-Verfahrens (für die Bewilligung ausserhalb der Bauzone). Bei grossen Investitionen, also dem Bau von allfälligen neuen Strecken entscheidet vorgängig die Bevölkerung der Gemeinde Surses an der Gemeindeversammlung über das Projekt.

Die laufenden Planungsarbeiten bedeuten somit nicht, dass diese Strecken(abschnitte) auch wirklich gebaut werden. Es geht hierbei um eine Konkretisierung der Massnahmen und der Optimierungsmöglichkeiten des Streckennetzes.

In diesem Sommer prüfen wir die folgenden Ergänzungen unseres bestehenden Streckennetzes:

  • Routenführung von Mulegns via Sur zum Stausee Marmorera damit eine attraktive Mountainbike-Strecke durch unser gesamtes Tal von Bivio bis nach Tiefencastel möglich wird
  • Neue Routenführung Alp Flix, die auch zu unseren wunderschönen Seen führt
  • Erstellung eines Anfänger- und Familientrails als Ergänzung des bestehenden Trail-Angebotes im Raum Somtgant Radons oder im Gebiet der ehemaligen Downhill-Strecke zwischen Parnoz und Savognin
  • Julierroute: Optionen für einen neuen Trail vom Julierpass nach Bivio

 

Flowtrail Somtgant - Tigignas

Bereits seit mehreren Jahren besteht das Projekt für den Bau eines Flow-Trails zwischen Somtgant und Tigignas. Es ist ein Projekt privater Initianten, der Gemeinde Surses und der Bergbahnen Savognin. Die Gemeindeversammlung hat für die zur Realisierung nötigen Teilrevision der Ortsplanung im Dezember 2018 grünes Licht gegeben.

Die Teilrevision wurde vom Kanton Graubünden im Mai 2019 abgelehnt, dies aufgrund von schützenwerten Biotopen (gemäss dem Natur- und Heimatschutzgesetz) im oberen Teil der geplanten Streckenführung. Vorgeschlagen wurde die Prüfung einer alternativen Streckenführung. Diese Projektänderung bedingt erneut eine öffentliche Mitwirkung sowie eine Abstimmung an der Gemeindeversammlung.

Aktuell wird die alternative Streckenführung geprüft sowie das Projekt im Kontext des Masterplan (E-)Bike mit den Initianten und den involvierten Partnern diskutiert.

Der Flowtrail wird mit der Firma Trailworks geplant.

 

Optimierung Bike-Infrastruktur

Bei der Umsetzung des Masterplanes Bike geht es nicht nur um den Unterhalt und die Optimierung des bestehenden Streckennetzes für unsere Zielgruppen. Ebenfalls wichtig sind «flankierende» Massnahmen zur Qualitätssteigerung des Gesamt-Angebotes.

Wir sind hierzu im Austausch mit Landwirten und Alpgenossenschaften, um Zaundurchgänge hindernisfrei zu gestalten und besser zu signalisieren. Und wir haben eine Initiative gestartet, um unsere Leistungsträger zu sensibilisieren und das Angebot an Bike-Ständern und E-Lademöglichkeiten zu vergrössern.

Damit Weidezaunübergange gut sichtbar sind, wurden Wimpel produziert, welche die Übergänge gut sichtbar machen. Die Landwirte wurden über die Wimpel informiert und können diese im Tourismusbüro Savognin bestellen.

Die Infrastruktur für Biker ist im Dorf sehr wichtig. So sollte man auch vor jedem Geschäft, Restaurant und Hotel Bikeständer vorfinden. Für Geschäfte, Restaurants und Hotels beteiligen wir uns mit 50% an den Anschaffungskosten für neue Bikeständer.

 

Die Arbeit trägt Früchte - auf dem Foto ein schönes Beispiel für einen neuen bikefreundlichen Zaundurchgang in Rona.

Information & Kommunikation

Es nützt nichts, die schönsten Routen zu haben, wenn niemand davon weiss. Wir sind bestrebt, die Kommunikation zum (E-)-Mountainbike-Angebot in unserer Ferienregion laufend auszuweiten und insbesondere auch auf den elektronischen Plattformen der Community sichtbarer zu werden.

Sie können uns dabei unterstützen. Posten Sie Ihre schönsten Bike-Bilder aus der Region auf Instagram mit #savognin_bivio_albula oder markieren Sie die Ferienregion Savognin Bivio Albula auf Facebook in Ihren Fotos.

Zur Information der Gäste vor Ort haben wir die 10 schönsten Routen im Surses ausgewählt.

Flyer mit den 10 top Routen

Weitere Massnahmen in diesem Bereich folgen laufend.

(Mobiler) Pumptrack

Als erste sichtbare Massnahme durften wir bereits im Sommer/Herbst 2019 auf dem Schulhaus-Areal in Grava einen mobilen Pumptrack aufstellen. Dieses bei einheimischen Kindern wie Gästen sehr beliebte Angebot besteht auch in diesem Sommer während den Sommerferien. Nutzen Sie es!

Aufgrund der grossen Beliebtheit des mobilen Pumptracks prüfen wir die Erstellung eines fixen Pumptracks. Aktuell laufen Variantenprüfungen. In diesem Projekt werden wir von der Think & Build Velosolutions GmbH betreut – eine Unternehmung, die auf den Bau von Pumptracks spezialisiert ist.

 

Das Zusammenleben von Wanderer und Biker

In Graubünden dürfen sowohl Wanderer, wie auch Biker, auf den Wanderwegen unterwegs sein. Damit keine Konflikte auf unserem Wegnetz entstehen setzen wir auf gegenseitigen Respekt und Toleranz. Oder einfach gesagt "Fairtrail". Im Sommer 2020 werden an verschiedenen Daten und Orten sogenannte Fairdinands vor Ort sein. Diese Personen vermitteln zwischen Biker und Wanderer und machen auf die anderen Nutzergruppen aufmerksam. 

3. Ausgangslage

Das Surses hatte einst den allerersten Mountainbike-Downhill-Weltcup organisiert. In der Zwischenzeit haben viele Destinationen im Bereich Mountainbike Vollgas gegeben und aufgerüstet. Nicht so das Surses.
Macht es jetzt überhaupt noch Sinn dieses Thema aufzunehmen?

  • Ja, dank dem E-Mountainbike wächst der Markt
  • Für Graubünden wird eine ver-5-fachung der Mountainbiker erwartet
  • Surses verfügt als viertgrösste Gemeinde der Schweiz über ein umfassendes Netz an Forst- und Alpstrassen sowie Wegen
  • Surses besticht durch Weitläufigkeit und Ursprünglichkeit
  • Surses im Herzen Graubündens ist umgeben von starken Bike-Destination und bietet die perfekte Ergänzung

Was bedeutet das (E) im Projekttitel?

Das (E) steht für Elektro-Mountainbikes. Der Masterplan unterscheidet nicht zwischen Elektro- oder herkömmlichen Mountainbikes. Er richtet sich nach den unterschiedlichen Bedürfnissen der Zielgruppen. Denn sowohl bei den Bikern, die mit eigener Kraft unterwegs sind, wie auch bei den Bikern, die mit Unterstützung unsere Region erkunden, gibt es Einsteiger oder Fortgeschrittene.

Fernsehbeitrag

Das SRF RTR hat im Format Cuntrasts im Herbst 2019 eine informative Sendung über den Mountainbike Boom in Graubünden produziert. Es gibt einen Einblick in unsere Arbeit im Masterplan, sowie Stimmen und Bilder aus dem Surses.

 

4. Wie entsteht ein Masterplan?

Ziel des Masterplanes (E-)Bike ist es, die Grundlagen zu erarbeiten, also herauszufinden, wo das Surses steht, was bereits vorhanden ist, welche Angebote verbessert werden sollten oder allenfalls noch fehlen. Es geht aber auch darum Klarheit zu erhalten, welche Zielgruppen zum Surses passen, was diese für Bedürfnisse haben und wie wir sie «abholen» können. Daraus werden Massnahmen abgeleitet und für die Umsetzung priorisiert.

Ziel:

  • Erarbeitung der Grundlagen (was besteht, Potenziale, Zielgruppen)
  • Erarbeitung und Priorisierung von Massnahmen

Etappe 1: Erarbeiten der Grundlagen in drei Workshops mit einer 15-köpfigen Arbeitsgruppe (Januar bis Mai 2019)

  • Bestehendes Streckennetz und Angebot: Routen, Highlights, Aussichtspunkte, Restaurants
  • Diskussion und Definition der Zielgruppen (Einsteiger/Familien; Genussbiker/Ausflügler; Fortgeschrittene/Trail MTB-Könner)
  • Erarbeitung zu den Zielgruppen gehöriges Wegnetz und die damit verbunden zu klärenden Fragen

Etappe 2: Erarbeitung Masterplan (E-)Bike (Juli bis September 2019)

  • Befahren Streckennetz durch Allegra Trails GmbH
  • Definition der Routen pro Zielgruppe
  • Erarbeitung und Priorisierung der Massnahmen

Etappe 3: Umsetzung erster Massnahmen und (Detail)Planung für die Erneuerung zusätzlicher Routen oder fehlender Streckenabschnitte

  • läuft aktuell...

 

5. Welche Zielgruppen passen zum Surses?

Bei der Erarbeitung des Masterplanes (E-)Bike haben sich folgende drei Zielgruppen herauskristallisiert:

Genussbiker / Ausflügler

Es sind Einheimische und Gäste, die das Surses per Bike erkunden wollen. Sie geniessen die Ausfahrt in der schönen Landschaft und verbinden diese meist mit Sehenswürdigkeiten, Aussichtspunkten und einem Besuch auf der Sonnenterrassen eines Restaurants. Sie folgen meistens den signalisierten Schweiz Mobil Routen und befahren gerne die zahlreichen Alp- und Forststrassen.

 

Familien / Trail-Einsteiger

Diese Biker suchen den Fahrspass auf einfachen Trails, also eine Erweiterung zu den Forstwegen. Für sie ist die Sicherheit ein wichtiges Thema – kein motorisierter Verkehr und keine abschüssigen Wege. Sie wollen sich ans Trail-Fahren herantasten. Für sie ist ein durchgängiges, abwechslungsreiches und somit spannendes Angebot wichtig. Da sich oft Familien auf diesen Trails aufhalten, sind ergänzende Angebote wie Spielplätze, Grillstellen, Bäche zum Stauen oder Badeplätze ideal.

 

Trail Mountainbike Könner

In diese Gruppe gehören die versierten Fahrer und körperlich fitten Sportler. Sie scheuen keine Aufstiege von mehreren Stunden, erfreuen sich dann bei der Talfahrt am Fahrspass auf Singletrails. Sie finden im Surses ursprüngliche Trails, die viel weniger befahren sind als in den Nachbardestinationen. Für sie ist die akkurate online-Information wichtig, sowie ergänzende Angebote wie ein kompetentes Guiding, Transport- und Einkehrmöglichkeiten, Reparaturservices und Bikehotels.

6. Kosten

  • Etappe 1: 9’700 CHF, davon Rückvergütung von 1/3 durch den Kanton Graubünden (Begründung: Sachplan Velo – Routenüberarbeitung)
  • Etappe 2: 30’000 CHF, davon Rückvergütung von 1/3 durch den Kanton Graubünden (Begründung: Sachplan Velo – Routenüberarbeitung)
  • Budget 2020: Maximale Ausgaben von 200'000 CHF für die Massnahmen im Sommer 2020. Unterhalt/Sanierungen, Grob- und Detailplanung weitere Massnahmen, Infrastruktur-Massnahmen, Schulung, mobiler Pumptrack, etc. (detaillierte Infos siehe oben).

 

8. Visualisierung

Um einen Überblick über die vielen Baustellen im Bezug auf den Masterplan (E-)Bike zu erhalten, haben wir eine Visualisierung erstellt.

Visualisierung Priorisierte Massnahmen / Planungen und Sanierungen

9. Umfragen

Im Sommer 2020 führten wir online und mit physischen Fragebögen eine kleine Umfrage bei Bikern und E-Bikern zum Thema Bike-Strecken und Ladestationen durch.

Stellungnahme zur Auswertung und Kommentaren

Frage 1: Die Umfrageergebnisse sind im Bereich des zu erwartenden. Wir haben gewusst, dass wir bei der Zufriedenheit mit den Bike-Strecken noch grosses Potential haben.

Frage 2: Verbesserungsvorschläge. Wir fokussieren uns zur Zeit in der Vermarktung auf die Hauptstrecken (Schweiz Mobil). In einem Austausch mit den Sportgeschäften hat gezeigt, dass ca. 80 - 90% der Gäste welche im Sportgeschäft ein Bike / E-Bike mieten entweder die Radons Bike, Verflixte Tour oder Giovannis Paradies fahren. Diese Touren werden im Sommer 2021 anhand von Video, Bild und Textmaterial verstärkt kommuniziert. Zur Kommunikation wurde eine Kooperation mit dem E-bike Magazin angestrebt und Content bereits im September 2020 generiert. Bei den Trails gibt es verschiedene Projekte die laufen, um Trails aus- und neu zu bauen. Bezüglich Unterhalt laufen Bestrebungen um in Zukunft die Trails besser und regelmässiger unterhalten zu können. Die Ferienregion wird kein Bike-Park in dem Sinn wie es in der Lenzerheide oder in Chur vorzufinden ist erstellen. Für Familien wird ein Familientrail angestrebt. Für die Hauptstrasse werden zur Zeit Lösungen angestrebt um die Bikestrecke von der Hauptstrasse zu trennen, besonders zwischen Mulegns und Staudamm Marmorera. Für ein Übungsgelände laufen diverse Abklärungen und ein fixer Pumptrack ist auch in Planung. Die Landwirtschaft ist ein wichtiger Partner wenn es um Bike- und Wanderwege geht. Hierzu findet jährlich ein Austausch statt um gemeinsam touristische Anliegen anzupacken.  

Frage 3: Akkuladung. Rund 80% der befragten E-Biker hatten genügend Akku für ihre Tour. 

Frage 4: Bei welcher Tour hat der Akku nicht gereicht. Die Antworten sind gegensätzlich, bei gewissen hat der Akku auf der gleichen Tour ausgereicht, bei anderen nicht. Dies ist enorm abhängig in welchem Modus die Tour gefahren wird. Rein aus der geografischen Gegebenheit im Surses, braucht es keine Ladestationen, da meist nur ein Gipfel befahren wird, und danach geht es nur noch bergabwärts, wo kein Akku benötigt wird. Trotzdem werden wir das Thema beibehalten und bei Infrastrukturprojekten abwägen ob eine Ladestation Sinn machen würde.

Herzlichen Dank allen Teilnehmenden für ihre wertvollen Inputs.

Die Umfrage wird im 2021 erneut durchgeführt, allerdings nur noch online.

 

10. Facts & Figures

  • 9 von 10 in den Sportgeschäften im Surses verkaufte Bikes sind E-Bikes. Bei dem einen handelt es sich meist um ein Kinderbike.
  • 240 neue Schweiz Mobil Routenkleber wurden an Signalisationstafeln ausgetauscht oder neu angebracht.
  • weitere folgen....

Kontakt  

Bei Fragen und Anregungen zum Masterplan (E-)Bike steht Ihnen Linda Netzer, Bereichsleiterin Standortentwicklung der Gemeinde Surses, linda.netzer@surses.ch, zur Verfügung. Rückmeldungen, ob positiv oder negativ, sind erwünscht.